The Pursuit of Happiness- Prompt 78

People are about as happy as they make up their minds to be”
-Abraham Lincoln
  1. Happiness is finding what brings you inner joy and making it your life’s effort to make it an external reality each day.

    If silly glasses are not happiness, I don't know what is.

  2. On a scale from one to ten, I would rate my general happiness level at a 6 or 7. I think what keeps my happiness from being a 10 is a mixture of general everyday annoyances and partially my own outlook. Though optimistic about life as a whole, the trivial stress of day-to-day (i.e. forgetting to pay a bill on time, not understanding homework, having too much cleaning to do) can overwhelm me fairly easily, especially since I’m a chronic procrastinator. (Though recently that status has changed to “recovering procrastinator.”)
  3. In regards to some people’s thoughts that happiness is not a mood but a perception, I would have to agree. I feel that no matter what happens to us externally, we are in complete control of how we view and assess a situation. I also think it’s important to view life this way if one wishes to take hold of their happiness. It’s just not possible to control every occurrence in your life. What we can control then, is how we react to them and thereby, how we let them affect how we feel.
  4. The idea that money can buy happiness, but only to a point…seems about right. I’ve seem the darker side of poverty, and it’s nothing I would wish upon even my worst enemy. Money does provide a sense of well-being in regards to the idea that without it- people/government/companies are more prone to bring stress into your life. Especially if you have bills and past due balances looming over your head. Even without mass amounts of debt it is more stressful to live without money because people still need finances to provide shelter, food, and medical care to themselves and their loved ones. I think beyond the point of providing for the necessities money can get to be a stress of its own. Like a great quote once stated,

“As the story goes, a lone fisherman sat on the beach, his fishing pole planted in the sand. Along came a corporate executive on vacation. “Why don’t you have two poles so you can catch more fish?” the executive asked. “Then what would I do?” asked the fisherman. “Then you could take the extra money, buy a boat, get nets and a crew, and catch even more fish. “Then what would I do?” ask the fisherman. “Then,” said the executive, “you could move up to a fleet or large ships, go wholesale, and become very rich.” “Then what would I do?” asked the fisherman. “Then you could do whatever you want!” shouted the executive. And the fisherman replied, “That’s exactly what i’m doing right now!”

  1. I believe that distress and stress and happiness are mutually exclusive, to a point. I think that everyone need some form of stress in their life. I think stress is what moves us to act and improve our circumstances. For example, say you’re in a job that you hate and it barely makes enough money to pay your bills. The stress of that job is what will push you to seek another way to make money. Say you find out that you love to help people and find the human body fascinating. So you decide to go to school to be a nurse, so that one day you can leave the job that causes you stress and replace it with something you love to do. Sure, there will be stress in the nursing job as well; but every patient that comes in and causes you stress also provides you with the urgency to act to save their life. All of this in the end is improving the quality of life for both parties. The nurse now has a job that pays their bills and provides their life with a sense of passion and commitment, and the patient receives the care they need to by physically well and mentally more stable. I think stress crosses the line when it becomes something that, even when you act to change it, it doesn’t make your life any better. Example: deciding to steal someone’s identity and bank account information to pay off your massive credit card debt. This situation would only bring both parties more distress and not impact life for the better to bring happiness.
  2. My bliss in life is pursued through a lot of creative outlets. I find contentment and peace in drawing, painting, writing, dancing, exploring, and taking part in my relationship with God. There are other things that I enjoy as well but those few are the ones that bring me the most bliss. I also find bliss when I feel like I’m accomplishing the things I want to in life. Like when I stick to an exercise schedule, eat mostly healthy food, get homework done, spend money in a smart manner, and am in good standing with my close personal relationships.
  3. Five to TenThings That Hit the Target of Bliss (in my life):
    Relaxation, Helping Others, Physical Well Being, Doing What I Know is Right, Creative Expression, and Feeling and Expressing Love.
  4. “Do you think it’s possible that happiness is a color of love’s rainbow?” sounds a little 1970’s-hippie-propaganda to me… but I see some truth in the underlying idea. I feel that those who are loved and have felt love for most their life- are more susceptible to experiencing happiness. When someone feels that they are loved and cared for, they feel freer to pursue that which we all deserve in the experience of living and being human: the right to be happy.
Leave a Reply

