Stress Journal – My Body’s Rhythms – (89) Warning, getting very physically personal. :)

  1. The idea that my body has a natural rhythm, or circadian rhythm, is new to me. I would say that my natural times to eat fall into a category of about every 2-3 hours, when I snack. I think my body likes to sleep more than 8 hours a day, preferably from 9 at night until around 7 or 8 in the morning. And I think my natural energy level is at its peak more in the morning and evening than the afternoon, when I tend to decline the most.
  2. In regards to eating, sleeping, and exercise I would say I’m fairly regular on keeping a schedule. Like I said above, I snack probably every 2-3 hours. I usually eat at 7 AM, 9 AM, 11:30 AM, 1:30 PM, (sometimes 4:30PM) and around 7:30at night. (Based on work hours and other reasons.) I sleep usually during the week from 9:30 PMto 6:40 AM. And on the weekends it always varies. I have a night job that I work some Fridays and Saturdays, so on those days I may not get more than 4 hours of sleep. Exercise I try to do either lightly 4-5 days a week or intense 2-3 days a week. But the days I do it are never the same week to week.
  3. Over the years I’ve identified my menstrual cycle as irregular. It comes about the same time every month for 1-3 months, then drastically changes it’s start date by a week or so. The pattern of menses is the same however, so it’s mostly just the length between periods that vary. Leaving me to believe that stress might play a role in the timing of start dates… basically if it doesn’t come on time, I get stressed out and this delays menses by a week usually.
  4. I am extremely intrinsically in tune with nature. However, I rarely get to be surrounded by it. I work in an office building and spend time doing online classes… the few chances I get to go for a walk or drive out to a national park are rare; and it does get me down. Nature refuels me, and I wish I could be apart of it more often. I do find myself more irritable when winter roles around. After the initial excitement of snow fall, I spend most of my time thinking of warm days walking outdoors and the smells of spring air. But I lived inNorth Carolina last year, and the lack of winter there also made me cranky. So I think the all-around change of seasons is close to my natural rhythm, and I do better to experience the seasons in full. 
Leave a Reply

